Italian 101: Italian on the go? Not so much.

Just realized I never published this post! Yikes!! I found it in my drafts. I think I was hoping to add to it but I will share now so that it’s included in my major project progress. It was from March 12th.

I didn’t have a blog post last week reviewing my major project progress because there wasn’t a lot of progress to talk about. Last week I was in Florida with my family taking in Disney World. I thought that I would be able to get a lot of practice in during the flights and layovers heading down and back but that wasn’t the case. On the first flight from Regina to Toronto I quickly discovered that my go to apps Duolingo and Babbel require use of the internet to use them. So on my first flight I wasn’t able to do any practicing.

When we landed in Toronto I used the free Wi-fi to download some lessons from Babbel so they would be available to use on the next flight. I was able to make it through only one lesson with a very poor score I don’t remember it exactly, but it was something like 40/78. I found it very difficult to concentrate when flying. It might be from having my son right beside me who seemed to need something from me every few minutes, or all the background noise, or maybe just because I have a fear of flying and get extremely anxious on flights. I was hoping the lessons would help me relax a bit by distracting me, but I think it created more stress haha. Maybe my next online learning journey will be participating in this Fear of Flying Course. 

If you read my blog post about my detox with technology you’ll know that I was rarely on my phone during my trip. I was far too busy and exhausted by the end of each day so thinking about practicing was even too much to handle. I decided to take a few days off and hopefully my skills wouldn’t decrease too much in the days I wasn’t practicing. I was mistaken. When I got home, my fluency on Duolingo was only 13% (down from my previous high of 16%) and almost every one of my skills was missing strength bars. It was overwhelming and a little discouraging to think I would have to go back and redo all of the lessons to strengthen skills. But after seeing another classmate, Amy, with a very high fluency percent in her language she is learning I was determined to bring my fluency up. I practiced quite a bit in the few days I returned home and was able to bring my fluency up to 20%. You can see that on Sunday I did 24 lessons to get 240pts in order to bring my fluency up to 20% from 13%. I am still trying to refrain from being to caught up in the fluency percent as I think it varies a lot and to be honest I don’t think that I became 7% more fluent on Sunday from doing those 24 lessons, but I’ll humour myself and the app.

You can see in the picture of my activity that I have 13 hours left before I complete all the lessons. With about 30 days before class ends that would mean I have to practice about 25 minutes a day to complete the course. I know that 25 minutes a day doesn’t seem like a lot, but some days I don’t have the time to practice so it does seem like a challenge to find 25 minutes for the next 30 days to complete it, but maybe I can do it.

 

Over the next few weeks I will be looking at using different apps and websites to learn Italian. I will try to read one book in Italian and also connect with someone online to communicate with.

4 thoughts on “Italian 101: Italian on the go? Not so much.

  1. Hey Ashley,

    Thanks for sharing! That is weird that you can’t use those apps offline — would be a struggle for those without 24/7 access to use them to learn a language (perhaps if you immigrated or were traveling and didn’t have a data plan of wifi access).

    I think taking the week off to spend with your family was important! I agree, sometimes finding 25minutes a day is a challenge in itself!

    Keep up the good work!
    Kristina

    Like

    • Ya, it was weird. I should have thought about the possibility of having no access with no network but I didn’t. Fortunately I was able to download the Babbel lessons but couldn’t do anything with Duolingo. It would make it difficult for anyone learning the language who has limited access to internet.

      Because of my experiences I tried to find some apps that you can use without internet access and I will be discussing them in my next blog. Unfortunately the apps I have found aren’t the greatest resources.

      Time is definitely a factor isn’t it! You’d think that finding 25-30 minutes a day would be easy but it doesn’t seem to be.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Italian 101: There’s an app for that. | Ashley Murray

  3. Pingback: Italian 101: There’s an app for that. | Ashley Murray

Leave a Reply

